The Hidden Man

I’m just after visiting The Sartorialist’s blog, a site which never fails to please me. Today I was very excited by the pictures that were posted from his Vintage Photo Contest.  I really love looking at photos and perhaps especially old photos, they sum up so much about the lifestyle of the people in them, the fashions at the time and the era in general in which the photo was taken in.

Recently my mom has been redecorating our house with old photos from her and my dad’s childhoods’, as well as photos of relatives in their families. One of these photos which was obtained from my Nana’s house, was of my great great grandmother. My mom decided to get it re-framed and after dropping it into the framers she received a phone call to say that they found a second portrait of a man concealed behind the portrait of the woman and would we like to have it framed too.  I joked that maybe this was a scam that was regularly pulled by the framers and several people around Dublin have the same picture of a forgotten relative hanging in their home. This perhaps sadly, was not the case, as the identity of the hidden man was confirmed as the lady’s husband, my great great grandfather.

Here they are –

Below is a picture of my dad as a toddler. I think my mom found the perfect photo for this ridiculous frame!

And below is a photo of my mom with her  siblings circa 1966. I love the clothes, which are really not too dissimilar to what’s in fashion now – socks with shoes, shirt with cardigan.

<!–[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]–><!–[if gte mso 9]> <![endif]–> <!–[endif]–>

 

Leave a Reply

